4102B -Tobacco Policy with Guidelines
Piute County School District
Statement of Tobacco Policy with Guidelines
Intel: The Board of Education pf Piute County School District desires to have a tobacco free school and guide students who use the products to resources for help. The Board of Education of Piute County School District recognizes that students develop best academically, emotionally, socially and physically when their bodies are free from harmful substances.
Law: The Piute County School District shall be in compliance with Utah Code 76-10-105, and the Utah Clean Air Act.
(1) Any 18 year old and younger person buys or attempts to buy, accepts, or has in his possession any cigar, cigarette, or tobacco in any form is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and subject to (a) a minimum fine or penalty of $60.00 and (b) participation in a court-approved tobacco cessation education program, which may include a participation. (2) Any person under the age of 18 who buys or attempts to buy, accepts, or has in the person's possession any cigar, cigarette, electronic cigarette, or tobacco in any form is subjects to the jurisdiction of the Juvenile Court and: (a) minimum fine or penalty of $60.00 and (b) participation in a court approved tobacco education program, which may include a participation fee. (3) A compliance officer appointed by the Board of Education under Section 53A-3-402 may issue citations for violations of this section committed on school property. Cited violations shall be report to the appropriate juvenile court.
Policy: The District prohibits the use, possession, and sale of tobacco, tobacco paraphernalia, as well as the distribution of tobacco, on school property, which includes the 1000 feet surroundings school property, in school vehicles and at school-sponsored events, at all times by all persons.
All Students shall receive tobacco prevention education information that will given them the knowledge and skill necessary to avoid all use of tobacco products. School leaders shall develop and implement a tobacco prevention plan that includes the following:
Possession of tobacco or tobacco paraphernalia is prohibited within 1000 feet of school property.
Any use of tobacco products is prohibited by students, school staff, parents, and visitors on school property, in school vehicles and at school sponsored activities during school and non-school hours.
All tobacco advertising is prohibited in school buildings, school functions, and school publications.
All students will receive instruction on how to avoid tobacco use through the state approved tobacco education curriculum.
All staff and students shall have access to cessation information and referral information to cessation program.
Enforcement: Any students who has a tobacco product in-his or her possession for personal use on school property will: be referred to the school principal. The school principal will contact the sheriff's department to make a juvenile court referral. The student is then suspended for two days and a referral is made to the cession class. Attendance at the cessation class is mandatory.
(Section: 76-10-105, of Utah States Law states that: Any 18 year old person who buys, accepts, or has in his possession any cigar, cigarette or tobacco in any form is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and subject to the jurisdiction of the Juvenile Court.)
Educational support of policy:
All Piute County School District students in K-12 will be presented age-appropriate tobacco prevention instructions through district curricula.
The above mentioned tobacco policy is consistent with the state and local laws in Utah.
Piute County School Superintendent
_______________________________________________ Date: ______________________